cakes n bakes

Chocolate Cake

Choccywoccydoodah

I have always loved cooking. More than that I have loved cooking for people be it friends or family, my mum will disagree as I have never cooked for her and thats only because shes my “Guru”, the best cook I know. She can create magic with just anything you give her.

Have inherited the cooking traits from my mum. I dont know how to explain but its just comes naturally to me. Cooking is a passion and I enjoy playing around with ingredients. After being married, I love cooking for Yoel, though we try having healthy lives but still love food and sometimes is difficult to stay away from calorie loaded stuff.

Baking is new to me and I am just loving it. In the past 7 weeks I have baked 4 massive cakes and cupcakes. ooooo….heaps of calories I know. Started with a basic cake to strawberry cake to coffee walnut cake and the latest being the chocolate cake. Tea cake was yummy, my mums recipe . I find most of the google recipes restraining as they have the perfect measurements and I dont own a measuring scale yet, so its quite a task. So mums measurements with cups are perfect.

Baking cakes could be so simple I never knew , the recipe being

3 cups flour (maida/self raising)

2 cups sugar

1.5 cup vegetable oil + half cup melted butter ( a lil healthy way)

3 eggs

1 tsp baking powder, 4 drops essence (vanilla)

oven at 180 degrees preheated and then 30 minutes the cake is DONE.

when its a chocolate cake add 1 tbsp cocoa powder, half cup milk and to make it spongy you can also try adding half cup pepsi/coke. While baking a strawberry cake instead of cocoa powder add half cup of fresh strawberry mince and no coke/pepsi . For coffee walnut cake add 1tbsp of cut walnut pieces and half cup of hot water with 1 tbsp coffee added.

The best of all was the chocolate cake with chocolate icing and yes this icing is so quick and easy and yumminess at its peak, just add half cup cocoa powder to 1 cup of milk and 1 and half cup of sugar and bring it to a quick boil. Remove from the flame and add 1 tbsp of butter and whip it in 20 minutes when it cools a bit. I found this recipe on google and it surely did wonders, the taste reached to a complete new level.

I have to have a piece of cake RIGHT NOW.

Chocolate cake slice

Scrumptious bite

Baking is so much fun….soon will try my hands on cookies and biscuits.

well writing about cakes I have to take few names mommy dearest, Leanne, Inahita, Melissa and Andy.

About SharonM

I am a happy person, enjoying every little thing life has bestowed upon me. There are new cooking experiences to be had everyday. I love cooking for family and friends. Sharing recipes has been something that I've always done, earlier just with friends on phone but now with the world.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to cakes n bakes

  1. Kanika Seth says:

    Way to go Sharon! Post more pics of YOU posing with the cakes..
    After you are done typing.. try doing a video of you baking a cake too. It will be lotsa fun 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    Loving reading your posts thanks for the mention I actually baked yesterday. It had been awile but I made an apple almond cake and also a choc flourless hazelnut cake.
    I can’t wait to come and visit London you make it sound so romantic and exciting. Keep it up.
    Mel

Leave a Reply

