INDIAAAAA….INDIA!

Weekends have always been busy for me. This weekend was dedicated to world cup…ahhh so proud to be an Indian…We are the champions now. The best part being the celebrations of the win, London roads were jammed and everyone just chanting INDIA INDIA…people in cars honking, loud desi music….”de ghumake”….as far as eyes could see, only one thing is visible the “tricolor”. So, Saturday whole day just watching the world cup finals, cheering team India, special lunch was mutton curry rice and cucumber mint raita…YUMMILICIOUS….and yes not to forget the breakfast, toast, egg, baked beans and mango orange juice, healthy enough by chef Yoel.

Sunday again lots of food started with honey and peanut butter on bread and Yum Cha for lunch. Oh I so love Yum Cha. We shopped in Oxford and Regent Street and by time we reached China Town to have lunch we were starving. After a good 15 minutes wait got our table and yes ordered just about everything. The moment the food arrived a race began, I started eating so quickly as if I had to win. I stopped and wondered who was i competing with? But, got back on the eating wagon very quickly…cant explain it!! We had ordered too much so did a “take away” with the leftovers. We walked in “starved” and walked out “stuffed”. Only thing I wanted now was a bed.

On the way home in the bus had a nice nap. It was my first travel nap in London. Oh my my in Melbourne, the moment I board the train back home after work, I used to fall asleep. The motion accelerates my sleep levels. So many times I have ended up waking after the train left my station. But there were times when my sleep was perfectly timed. I used to wake up just before my Station, those days I used to be proud of myself and be amazed at how our brain works, restoring all such activities. With trains I have another history, I always run and catch the train, or may be I dont have the patience to wait for the next one. I hate missing trains.

Then for dinner had Maggi soup and the leftovers from Yum Cha. Maggi is pronounced as Maggi meaning the G is pronounced. I remember calling it Maggi (the Indian pronunciation) and no one understood, cause my pronunciation would spell MAGGIE. Its fun to know about the different accents and pronunciations people have all over the world. So yes, weekends is all about eating.

Thus we try eating healthy over the week, though sometimes infact most times the weekend food undos it all. So tonites its soup, Chicken Noodle Soup

chicken noodle soup

tom yum soup...

Here’s the recipe.

  • Take 2L water in a pot and add finely chopped stalk of lemongrass and red chillies.
  • Add 200g of diced chicken, let these boil for 15 mins.
  • add chopped vegetables, I used capsicum, carrots and beans.
  • 5 tbsp of fish oil and 2 tbsp of soy sauce. Vegetarians can just use Soy sauce.
  • 1 tbsp of sugar, salt to taste.
  • When all this comes to boil add 4 tbsp of coconut milk, and bring it to boil.
  • A main ingredient is lime leaves but I didn’t have any so added lemon juice.

This was the first time I made this soup, so my reference was the tom yum soup I used to have in Ying Thai Restaurant in Melbourne. I had the “ready to eat” rice noodles from my local grocery store, so in the end added the rice noodle to the soup and yes the yummy soup was ready. A very healthy soup. The rice noodles were the Vermicilli type.

With the leftover vermicilli noodles I made upma. Seviyan upma is a south Indian dish and it reminds me of bangalore days. I love it but this was the first time I made for Yoel’s next day lunch. Its a very easy recipe using mustard seeds, curry leaves, chopped onions, carrots, potatoes , lime juice, grated coconut, sugar, turmeric powder, green chillies and salt to taste and ofcouse vermicilli.

About SharonM

I am a happy person, enjoying every little thing life has bestowed upon me. There are new cooking experiences to be had everyday. I love cooking for family and friends. Sharing recipes has been something that I've always done, earlier just with friends on phone but now with the world.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

