Baking Flowers n Planting Biscuits….

Flowers …they speak a lot and can brighten anyone’s day. Many people love roses but I just love flowers be it any, no favourites. It’s the bright vibrant colours that somehow make me feel my best. Oh yes, but I dislike artificial flowers, they might be the best looking, next to real but it turns me off, cause Flowers are beautiful creations full of life that should not be duplicated.

Fresh flowers on the dining table just enhance the beauty of the room. I have a huge flower vase downstairs and have a single stem vase on my bedside table. The beauty of the flowers intensifies when given by a loved one, Yoel buying flowers for me makes it special. On trains and buses when you see someone carrying flowers, you cant help but imagine the smiling face of the person getting them. Whether the flowers are for you or not, they still light up faces. Few days ago I read that more flowers are in demand for Mother’s day than on Valentine’s Day. Surely mom is the most special woman in everyone’s life, after-all today’s wife is tomorrow’s mom.

I have always loved gardens, plants and flowers. At home ma had a pretty garden, with seasons the flowers kept changing, one side of the walkway was the rose garden, all different colours of roses and on the other was the lush green lawn lined by all the seasonal flowers be it poppy, pansy, chrysanthemum, dahlia etc etc. We also had kitchen garden and those days ma used to take immense pleasure in cooking those vegetables. Sometimes there was so much of produce that even the neighbours used to enjoy. In those days I didn’t quite understand ma’s attachment with her plants but I guess these flowers and plants were also like her children, taking care of each and everyone just like us. In return all these flowers and plants used to beautify our house and also bring a smile on every ones face.

potted flowers

Pansies....

Finally now I have my own garden, and so I was eagerly waiting for spring so that I could start gardening. On a Saturday morning cleaned the whole garden, mowed the lawn and groomed all the plants. Bought pansies and impatiens and potted them. For vegetables I am keen on planting tomatoes, brinjals and French beans. Well I should get coriander and mint cause these two are a must in most of my cooking. Now instantly the first thing I do after I wake up is to go see the flowers. They really have become a part of me. Seeing the pretty colourful flowers bloom brings immense joy and takes away all the stress.

With all that gardening on saturday a nice tea was much appreciated by Yoel and home-made biscuits came to mind. After going through a lot of recipes, I realized I didn’t have most of the ingredients. I did not want to go grocery shopping that time. So I decided to stop fussing over what I was missing instead bake something with what I had. NAAN KHATAI was the solution to all the stress. Its a simple Indian tea biscuit. The ingredients being ½ cup gram flour, ¼ cup coarse semolina (suji), ¼ cup all purpose flour (maida), 1tsp baking powder,2/3 cup sugar, 100gm butter, diced walnut (almonds or pistachios are also recommended) and a pinch of salt. You can also use cardamom powder/nutmeg powder.

  • In a bowl mix the butter and sugar (butter should be at room temperature and

    best served with a cuppa

    don’t melt it)

  • Beat the butter sugar well, till you can see the mixture fluffy enough
  • Add all the three flours and baking powder to the butter sugar mixture
  • Mix and knead the mixture well into a soft dough
  • This mixture can easily make 22-25 equal balls
  • Make tic-tac-toe on the centre of the balls and garnish it with diced walcut pieces
  • Pre-heat the oven at 180 degrees and then bake the biscuits for 15 minutes
  • The NAAN KHATAI s are ready, let them cool down
About SharonM

I am a happy person, enjoying every little thing life has bestowed upon me. There are new cooking experiences to be had everyday. I love cooking for family and friends. Sharing recipes has been something that I've always done, earlier just with friends on phone but now with the world.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking Flowers n Planting Biscuits….

  1. Dr.Pritam Masih Minz says:

    Impressed.

Leave a Reply

