slug and the garden

Being at home, the best hobby I could take up was gardening. I always loved flowers and grew up amidst garden at home be it flowers or vegetables. Spring was the perfect time to start looking after a messed up garden we had. When we moved in, the garden was in a disastrous state, being winters I couldn’t do much. The first Saturday of spring we cleaned up the garden, trimmed the plants, mowed the lawn and tried to set it as best as we could. The only thing missing were the lovely seasonal flowers. Bought bedding flowers and planted them in pots as well in the soil. I was happy seeing each day new flowers blooming. The boundary is lined with roses, we have all colors red, white, yellow and maroon. Infact lately we have stopped buying flowers from the supermarket, cause the garden roses are blooming beautifully. This was the best time to grow a strawberry plant too.

my first strawberry plant...

Each day I took extra care of the strawberry plant. It was great to see the tiny fruits, and then finally saw one fruit turning red. I kept thinking of taking a photo but that didn’t happen. AND today to my surprise the little red strawberry vanished, when I looked closely it was eaten up and yes it was the slug. OH I hate slugs, earlier it destroyed my salad leaves, which I could still resist, but strawberry. I was sad, upset, angry, all emotions of hatred towards the slug. Just like me, the slug was also waiting for the fruit.

emergency evacuation

I at once moved the plant from the soil and planted it in a pot. Not knowing anything about slugs and how to get rid of them, my only answer was GOOGLE. Got to know many ways to get rid of slugs and snails. Best being planting a jar filled with beer in the soil. The slugs like the beer so come to drink it but being deep enough for them, drown n die – awesome trap. Using copper wire and aluminium foil to wind around the plants this disable them to climb up. Tiny pieces of glasses, wood and ashes also don’t allow the slugs rather injure their bodies. These are all home remedies. I remember during childhood, we used to put salt on the snails and they died instantly. Throwing salt on snails and friends does give them a gruesome death but also makes the soil less nutritive and hinders healthy vegetation. Slugs and snails attack only during night so before going to bed if you tour in your garden with a torch it would help spotting them. This might sound crazy but when you lose your fruits and flowers because if these mollusca I am sure you’ll want to protect them.

plants-pots-flowers

Well right now I have moved my pots in the sun room/conservatory. Over the weekend my mission was to find a good slug killer.

I finally did get a slug killer, according to the instructions spread the blue pellets through out the flowering bed. In the morning, I found at least twenty snails lying around, some were dead some were immobile but I had won the battle and I didn’t know the death of few creatures could make me this delighted.

About SharonM

I am a happy person, enjoying every little thing life has bestowed upon me. There are new cooking experiences to be had everyday. I love cooking for family and friends. Sharing recipes has been something that I've always done, earlier just with friends on phone but now with the world.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to slug and the garden

  1. Inahita says:

    Love the story and the garden. Here’s to seeing it soon.

  2. Dr.Pritam Masih Minz says:

    Well done !
    Keep going.

  3. shilpa says:

    Now this one was best of all as I could imagine whatever you have mentioned. Especially abt your enemy – snails n their trap:)

Leave a Reply

